Multi-stakeholder advisory group

The Chair and the expert panel will engage with the multi-stakeholder Advisory Group as they conduct the review, to ensure that the perspectives of a cross-section of stakeholders are solicited and represented throughout the process. The Advisory Group will engage in face-to-face meetings with the Chair and Expert Panel periodically throughout the review, provide written feedback on the draft standard and related report, and meet to discuss their feedback. The organisations represented on the Advisory Group all have broad and diverse experience of the mining sector but from a variety of different angles, and their perspectives will prove invaluable as we develop the international standard on tailings storage facilities.

Who Is Involved

Antonio Pedro, Director: Subregional Office, Central Africa, UN Economic Commission for Africa

Bruno Milanez, Associate Professor: Grupo Política, Economia, Mineração, Ambiente e Sociedade, Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora

Charles Dumaresq, Vice President: Science and Environmental Management, Mining Association of Canada

Chris Sheldon, Practice Manager: Energy & Extractives, World Bank

David Poulter, Principal Mining Specialist, IFC

Elaine Baker, Director: Marine Studies Institute; UNESCO Chair: Marine Science, University of Sydney/GRID-Arendal

Guenter Becker, Head of Mining, Munich Re

Harvey McLeod, Vice President: Strategic Marketing, Klohn Crippin Berger

Jacinda Nuskmata Mack, Member of  Xat’sull (Soda Creek) First Nation; Director of Mukw Consulting

Mike Davies, Senior Advisor: Tailings & Mine Waste, Teck Resources

Paul Bateman, President and Chair of the Board of Directors, International Cyanide Management Institute

Payal Sampat, Director: Mining Programme, Earthworks

Rebecca Campbell, Partner: Global Head of Mining & Metals, White & Case

Steve Edwards, Senior Programme Manager: Business and Biodiversity Programme, IUCN

Upmanu Lall, Director, Columbia Water Center